Myths, Myths, Myths!

If there are two things I love the most (besides fanfiction and music), they are researching and mythology. Now, add those two together, and I can be in front of my laptop for hours (NOT RECOMMENDED, mind you. I just forget to take breaks sometimes.) There’s one thing I’ve realized when reading up on my myths.

Norse mythology is so much more complicated than Greek mythology!

Why is this so? Several reasons: a) there are NINE realms, each with its own subsections and peoples, which is the main cause of confusion; b) someone (*coughSnorriSturlusoncough*) with a mainly Christian religion decided to, uh, to put it plainly, mess it all up (to name one: he made Loki the Norse version of the Devil, whereas in the original stories, he is a symbol of rebirth as the harbinger of Ragnarök, where the Nine Worlds will be destroyed and recreated); and c) most of the translations are inaccurate and missing some parts.

Now, since I am writing The Worlds Trilogy (which has Greek and Norse mythology interwoven) and consider the Marvel version of the Nine Worlds to be even more complicated, I will be writing an entire explanation using both the original myths and my own reasoning.

WARNING: this is just my personal opinion. It makes sense in my head, but there is a possibility that you will disagree with what I write. If you will be reading The Worlds Trilogy (which I hope you will) and/or my Remixed Mythology series, you might need to know this to understand.

To start off, here is a list of the Nine Realms of Yggdrasil, the World Tree. (This will be the way I spell them, to those who know variations.)

  1. Asgard, home of the Aesir (singular: Ás) (commonly, but incorrectly known as the Asgardians) (Thor, Odin, Frigga, etc.)
  2. Vanaheim, home of the Vanir, the sister realm of Asgard (birthplace of Freya and Freyr)
  3. Álfheim, home of the Light Elves, or Ljósálfar
  4. Midgard, aka Earth, home of humans
  5. Jötunheim, home of the Frost Giants, or Jötnar (singular: Jötun)
  6. Svartálfheim, home of the Dark Elves, or Svartálfar. Here, deep underground, within the mountains, lies Nidavellir, home of the Dwarves, or Dvergr
  7. Muspellheim, home of the Fire Giants. Primordial land of fire
  8. Niflheim, home to none. Primordial land of ice
  9. Helheim, land of the dishonored dead. Those considered “unworthy” to go to Valhalla (also known as “the ones who didn’t die heroically in battle”) go here. It is ruled by the goddess Hela.

In my next post, I will explain the Norse Underworld(s) and why there are so many of them. Fun!

Note: To make it easier, everything will be compiled onto pages, but new info will always be in post-form first, since you guys are only notified on new posts.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s