Of Shadows and Fire: Prologue

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“What do I have to do?”

~~~

“You’re not getting away from me that easily.”

~~~

“You don’t deserve me. I’ve killed people, Zuko. Your own people. I even tried to kill you! How can you still say you love me after all I’ve done?”

~~~

“Why didn’t you kill me?”

“I don’t know…”

~~~

“He doesn’t love you, Kurami. He’s the enemy. He’s only using you.”

~~~

“You’re lying.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The story of the Shadowbenders has been shrouded in mystery for thousands of years, reduced to myths and bedtime stories.

It is said that the Shadowbenders were created by a Spirit out of evil jealousy of the other spirits with benders. The spirit, who wanted chaos and death, made the Shadowbenders. They eventually went insane and killed each other off, and their ghosts haunted the earth as the shadows they once controlled.

What really happened–the real reason the Shadowbenders disappeared from the world, why they were made in the first place, and how one last bender, a girl, was born to help restore balance to the world–is something only a select few know.

My name is Kurami, the “Nightwalker”, and I am the last Shadowbender.

This is my story.

Leave a Reply

